A. Richard Newton Lecture Series

A Berkeley Changemaker™ Course

INDENG 95/195/296 (1 Unit)

This lecture series recognizes the entrepreneurial vision of A. Richard Newton, Dean of UC Berkeley’s College of Engineering from 2000 to 2007, by inviting distinguished innovators to share lessons from their own successes and failures. The course features a selection of highly accomplished industry speakers, including Cal alumni, who share their unique insights on industry developments, leadership, and innovation accumulated through experience in their careers. The lecture series serves as a discovery course for topics at the intersection of technology innovation and entrepreneurship and is a requirement for two of the tracks to complete the SCET Certificate in Entrepreneurship & Technology.

This class is a great introductory class for students interested in learning more about technology entrepreneurship and innovation. SCET classes welcome students from all majors and levels. Lower division students should enroll in INDENG 95; Upper division students should enroll in INDENG 195; and Graduate students should enroll in INDENG 295.

Featured Video Of The Month - Tony Hsieh - Former CEO @ Zappos

Video Archive

Fall 2020

Padmasree Warrior - Founder and CEO, Fable

Rathi Murthy - CTO, Verizon Media and former CTO, Gap

Ashar Aziz - Founder, FireEye security software and SkyElectric

Spencer Kimball & Peter Mattis - CEO & CTO, Cofounders, Cockroach Labs

Ryan Peterson - CEO, Flexport

Kira Makagon - Serial entrepreneur and Chief Innovation Officer, Ring Central

Daniel Mouen-Makoua - Cal grad, global investor, agri-investor and I-House Alumni of the year ('13)

Brian Spears -  Cofounder, New Age Meats